‘American Fiction,’ ‘Origin’ and ‘The Color Purple’ Among 2024 AAFCA Awards Winners

15th Annual AAFCA Awards Winners

The Color Purple, American Fiction, and Origin picked up top honors when the winners were announced Monday for the 15th annual AAFCA Awards.

The awards celebrate outstanding achievement in film and are decided by the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA).

The group named Origin best drama. American Fiction won for best comedy and The Color Purple was named best musical.

Related Story: ‘American Fiction’ Director Wanted to Tell a Black Story That Didn’t Dwell on ‘Misery’

Among the performers, the winners include Colman Domingo, Aunjanue Ellis-Taylor, Lily Gladstone, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, Danielle Brooks, and Sterling K. Brown.

“What a great year for cinema showcasing the vibrant tapestry of Black storytelling, where diversity is not a trend, but an imperative. This year’s winners have inspired, challenged, and moved us and we are delighted to celebrate them and their cultural impact,” AAFCA president and co-founder Gil Robertson said in a statement.

The winners were voted on by AAFCA’s 100+ members. The group also announced its picks for top 10 films of the past year.

The 15th Annual AAFCA Awards ceremony will be held on Feb. 21 at the Beverly Wilshire, A Four Seasons Hotel.

The winners are listed below.

American Fiction
The Color Purple
Past Lives
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
Poor Things
Anatomy of a Fall
Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Drama: Origin
Best Comedy: American Fiction
Best Musical: The Color Purple
Best Director: Ava DuVernay (Origin)
Best Screenplay: American Fiction
Best Actor: Colman Domingo (Rustin)
Best Actress: Aunjanue Ellis-Taylor (Origin)
Best Supporting Actor: Sterling K. Brown (American Fiction)
Best Supporting Actress: *TIE* Da’Vine Joy Randolph (The Holdovers), Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple)
Best Ensemble: The Color Purple
Breakout Performance: Lily Gladstone (Killers of the Flower Moon)
Emerging Filmmaker: Cord Jefferson (American Fiction)
Best Independent Feature: A Thousand and One
Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
Best Documentary: Stamped From The Beginning
Best Music: The Color Purple
Best International Film: Io Capitano
Best Short Film: The After