‘SNL’ Adds 4 Comedians to Cast Ahead of Season 48 Premiere

Saturday Night Live Season 48 new cast members (Credit: NBC)

Devon Walker, Molly Kearney, Michael Longfellow, and Marcello Hernandez have all landed gigs on Saturday Night Live.

NBC posted their pictures on Twitter Thursday, and sent out a press release saying the four comedians are joining SNL as featured players for season 48.

The comics were hired following the departures of Pete Davidson, Kate McKinnon, Aidy Bryant and Kyle Mooney at the end of season 47 in May. Since then, Alex Moffat, Melissa Villaseñor and Aristotle Athari have also exited the late-night sketch series.

Related StoryKatt Williams Mocks Kanye West and Pete Davidson at Netflix Comedy Festival

Earlier this week, the show won the 2022 Emmy Award for Outstanding Variety Sketch Series, making that its 93rd Emmy win (including awards for its specials and short form series).

SNL launched in 1975, and is produced in association with Broadway Video. Lorne Michaels is creator and executive producer.

Season 48 premieres Oct. 1 on NBC and streams live on Peacock. Live episodes will also air on Oct. 8 and Oct. 15.

Below are bios on the four new comedians:

Devon Walker was selected for Comedy Central’s Up Next showcase in 2017. He has written for Freeform’s Everything’s Trash and Netflix’s Big Mouth. Walker is from Austin, Texas, and his birthday is Feb. 13.

Molly Kearney (they/them) was selected for Comedy Central’s Up Next showcase in 2019. They can be seen in Amazon’s A League of Their Own and Disney+’s The Mighty Ducks. Kearney is from Cleveland and their birthday is May 2.

Michael Longfellow has been featured on Netflix’s Introducing … showcase and NBC’s Bring the Funny. He was also selected as one of TBS’s Comics to Watch for the 2017 New York Comedy Festival. Longfellow is from Phoenix and his birthday is Jan. 31.

Marcello Hernandez is a comedian, writer and actor of Cuban/Dominican descent. He was selected as a Just for Laughs New Face of Comedy in 2022. Hernandez is from Miami and his birthday is Aug. 19.