‘We Did It’: Shemar Moore Celebrates CBS’ Decision to Un-Cancel ‘S.W.A.T.’

S.W.A.T. (Credit: CBS)

Shemar Moore called on fans to help save S.W.A.T. Now that the series has been un-canceled, the actor is thanking viewers for their support.

Shortly after CBS and co-producer Sony Pictures Television said Monday the police drama will return for a seventh and final season, Moore took to Instagram to celebrate.

“Ayyeee!!!!! We did it #SWATFAM!!! @swatcbs is coming back for a 7th and Final season with 13 Episodes!!!” he captioned his post. “Thank you to all of you for the continued and amazing support!! Let’s go.”

Related StoryShemar Moore Slams CBS for ‘S.W.A.T.’ Cancellation: ‘A F–king Mistake’

Fans and fellow celebrities replied to the post with congratulatory comments.

“Awesome news. That was some BS that they canceled you all. I hope they see how good this next season is and change their mind, or let someone else pick it up. This show should be able to go on for awhile if you all want it to,” one viewer wrote.

“Happy about this but we need more than just season 7!!!” another person added.

“Congratulations bro!!! blessings on blessings,” Good Burger actor Kel Mitchell chimed in.

“Wow!!!! Power of the people!!!!” wrote So Help Me Todd and The Bold and the Beautiful actress Ashley Jones.

In a joint statement Monday, CBS and Sony Pictures Television confirmed viewer support helped save the series, after the network said Friday that the show would end this month with the season 6 finale.

“We have listened to our viewers and their outpouring of passion for S.W.A.T. and we have reached an agreement to renew it for a final season of 13 episodes to air during the 2023-2024 broadcast year,” said CBS Entertainment president Amy Reisenbach and Katherine Pope, president of Sony Pictures Television.

The series about an elite LAPD squad premiered in 2017. In addition to Moore, the cast includes Alex Russell, Kenny Johnson, Jay Harrington, David Lim, Patrick St. Esprit, and Rochelle Aytes.

Executive producers are Shawn Ryan, Justin Lin, Neal Moritz, Marney Hochman, Pavun Shetty, Billy Gierhart, Andy Dettman Paul Bernard, and Moore.