NAACP Image Awards: Jazmine Sullivan Named Outstanding Female Artist on Night 4

Jazmine Sullivan attends the 2021 BET Awards. (Credit: Shutterstock)

R&B songstress Jazmine Sullivan was named Outstanding Female Artist on night four of the 53rd NAACP Image Awards. Sullivan, who was nominated in four categories, also picked up awards for Outstanding Album (for “Heaux Tales”) and Outstanding Soul/R&B Song (for “Pick Up Your Feelings”).

The Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional) honor went to “Leave The Door Open” from R&B duo Anderson .Paak and Bruno Mars, also known as Silk Sonic.

Related StoryNAACP Image Awards – ‘Red Table Talk’ Wins Best Talk Series on Night 3

The Harder They Fall (The Motion Picture Soundtrack) was named Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album, Anthony Hamilton won for Outstanding Male Artist, Saweetie for Outstanding New Artist, and “Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems won for Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album.

The week-long virtual awards run from Feb. 21-25, honoring outstanding achievements and performances of people of color across more than 80 competitive categories. They can be seen at and the Image Awards YouTube channel.

The non-televised awards program is hosted nightly by actor and comedian Affion Crockett.

Related StoryNAACP Image Awards – Sherri Shepherd, Kym Whitley Win on Night One

The televised show will be hosted by seven-time NAACP Image Awards winner Anthony Anderson. The telecast airs on Saturday, Feb. 26 at 8:00 PM ET/ 5:00 PM PT on BET. Mary J. Blige will be the featured performer during the televised show.

Read the full list of night 4 winners below:

Outstanding Jazz Album – Instrumental
“Sounds from the Ancestors” – Kenny Garrett

Outstanding Jazz Album – Vocal
“Generations”- The Baylor Project

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Song
“Help Me”- Tamala Mann feat. The Fellas

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album
“Overcomer”- Tamela Mann

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional)
Silk Sonic- “Leave the Door Open”

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Contemporary)
Tobe Nwigwe Feat. Fat Nwigwe- “Fye Fye”

Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album
“The Harder They Fall (The Motion Picture Soundtrack)” – JAY-Z & Jeymes Samuel

Outstanding International Song
“Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems & Justin Bieber

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album
“Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems

Outstanding New Artist
Saweetie – “Best Friend” Ft. Doja Cat

Outstanding Male Artist
Anthony Hamilton – “Love Is The New Black”

Outstanding Female Artist
Jazmine Sullivan- “Heaux Tales”

Outstanding Soul/R&B Song
“Pick Up Your Feelings”- Jazmine Sullivan

Outstanding Hip-Hop/Rap Song
“Fye Fye” – Tobe Nwigwe Feat. Fat Nwigwe

Outstanding Album
“Heaux Tales”- Jazmine Sullivan

Special Award: NAACP Humanitarian of the Year
Darnella Frazier