‘Judge Steve Harvey’ Set to Return for Second Season

Judge Steve Harvey (Credit: ABC)

Season 2 of Judge Steve Harvey is slated to debut on May 9, ABC announced Friday.

The one-hour unscripted courtroom series features comedian Steve Harvey as the judge and jury.

Harvey tackles conflicts in his courtroom — from small claims to big disputes and everything in between. He plays by his own rules, basing his decisions on his own life experiences and on common sense.

The series premiered on ABC in January 2022, and got a renewal notice last year.

Judge Steve Harvey is produced by Den of Thieves in association with Walt Disney Television Alternative. Steve Harvey, Brandon Williams, and Den of Thieves’ Jesse Ignjatovic, Evan Prager and Jared Morell serve as executive producers. Myeshia Mizuno is showrunner and executive producer.

Related Story: Steve Harvey Says ‘Political Correctness’ Has Killed Stand-Up Comedy

Along with details on the court show’s return, ABC unveiled its summer 2023 schedule.

The network said season 2 of The Wonder Years reboot premieres on Wednesday, June 14.

The announcement came after a shakeup that saw executive producer and director Fred Savage exit the series following an investigation into allegations of inappropriate conduct.

Now that the investigation has concluded, The Wonder Years is returning with a one-hour premiere,

The series is inspired by the award-winning comedy by the same name that starred Savage.

The reboot tells the story of the Williams family during the late 1960s, spotlighting the ups and downs of growing up in a Black middle-class family in Montgomery, Alabama, and the friendship, laughter and lessons along the way.

The award-winning show stars Don Cheadle, narrating as an adult Dean Williams. The cast also includes Elisha “EJ” Williams as Dean Williams, Dulé Hill as Bill Williams, Saycon Sengbloh as Lillian Williams, Laura Kariuki as Kim Williams, Julian Lerner as Brad Hitman, Amari O’Neil as Cory Long and Milan Ray as Keisa Clemmons.

Lee Daniels, Saladin K. Patterson, Bob Daily and Jacque Edmonds Cofer serve as executive producers. Patterson also serves as showrunner.

The series is produced by 20th Television, a part of Disney Television Studios.

Below is ABC’s summer 2023 schedule. (All times listed are Eastern/Pacific. New shows are in bold).

8:00-9:00 p.m. “Jeopardy! Masters” (series premiere)

9:00-10:00 p.m. “Judge Steve Harvey” (season premiere)

8:00-9:00 p.m. “Jeopardy! Masters” (season finale)
9:00-10:00 p.m. “The Prank Panel” (special preview)

8:00-9:00 p.m. “Judge Steve Harvey” (new night/time)
9:00-10:00 p.m. “The Wonder Years” (season premiere)

8:00-9:00 p.m. “Claim to Fame” (season premiere)
9:00-11:00 p.m. “The Bachelorette” (season premiere)

8:00-9:00 p.m. “Press Your Luck” (season premiere)
9:00-10:00 p.m. “Generation Gap” (season premiere)
10:00-11:00 p.m. “The Chase”

8:00-9:00 p.m. “The Prank Panel” (regular time-slot debut)
9:00-10:00 p.m. “Celebrity Family Feud” (season premiere)
10:00-11:00 p.m. “The $100,000 Pyramid”