‘Dancing With the Stars’ Returning to ABC Shortly After Move to Disney+

Dancing With the Stars season 30 winners, Iman Shumpert and Daniella Karagach. (Credit: ABC/Eric McCandless)

Dancing With the Stars is waltzing back over to ABC after just one season on Disney+.

In April 2022, ABC announced it was moving the reality dance competition to streaming for season 31.

Now DWTS is returning to the network for season 32 and will air live simultaneously on ABC and Disney+, according to Vulture — which was the first outlet to report on this latest shuffle.

For the season 31 move, Chairman of Entertainment at Walt Disney Television Dana Walden called the shift to streaming “a great opportunity to introduce this show to a whole new generation of fans on Disney+.”

Related Story: ‘Dancing With the Stars’ Names Tyra Banks’ Replacement

News of this latest move came Tuesday, the same day the Writers Guild of America (WGA) strike began against Hollywood studios and streaming services over higher pay and improved working conditions.

Production on scripted TV shows is already grinding to a halt as a result of the strike. Putting DWTS back on ABC gives the network more content in case the strike drags on.

In another change at the series, Tyra Banks announced in March that she would be exiting the show after three seasons.

“I feel it’s time for me to really focus on my business and my entrepreneurship, and also producing more TV, but behind the scenes,” Banks told a TMZ photographer outside a grocery store. “I think it’s time to graduate from the dance floor to the stock market floor.”

Julianne Hough will co-host season 32 of the series alongside Alfonso Ribeiro, Disney+ recently announced.

Hough has a long history with the show after serving as a professional dancer, and winning the Mirrorball trophy with Olympian Apolo Anton Ohno and race car driver Hélio Castroneves. She later joined the judges’ table for seasons 19 through 21, and seasons 23 and 24.

Celebrity contestants and the professionals for Dancing With the Stars for the new season will be announced later.