ABC Sets Fall Premiere for Hip-Hop Drama ‘Queens’

Queens to debut fall 2021. Credit: ABC

ABC on Tuesday announced its primetime lineup for the 2021-2022 television season, including the fall debuts of hip-hop drama series Queens and Lee Daniels’ The Wonder Years reboot.

First up will be Queens on Tuesday nights. The series stars Eve, Naturi Naughton, Nadine Velazquez and Brandy as a group of women in their 40s who reunite for an opportunity to relive the fame they had as the Nasty Bi-ches — a popular hip-hop group in the 1990s, as previously reported.

In the above teaser released by ABC, the foursome discuss what it will take to perform at a big awards show after decades away from the spotlight.

Related Story: Eve Returning to TV in Pilot for ABC Music Drama ‘Queens’

Eve’s character Brianna (who is known in the series by her stage name Professor Sex) asks the group, “Tell me how this isn’t gonna be a disaster?”

Zahir McGhee, Sabrina Wind and Tim Story are executive producers. The series is produced by ABC Signature, a part of Disney Television Studios. The pilot episode is written by McGhee and directed by Story. The series will feature original music performed by cast members. Queens will air Tuesdays this fall at 10 p.m. ET/PT.

Also this fall, half-hour episodes of coming-of-age comedy reboot The Wonder Years will air on Wednesday nights.

The reimagined 1988 series, which starred Fred Savage, will now focus on a Black middle-class family in 1960s Montgomery through the point of view of imaginative 12-year-old Dean.

The series stars Don Cheadle, who will be narrating as adult Dean Williams, Elisha “EJ” Williams as Dean Williams, Dule Hill as Bill Williams, Saycon Sengbloh as Lillian Williams, Laura Kariuki as Kim Williams, Julian Lerner as Brad Hitman, Amari O’Neil as Cory Long and Milan Ray as Keisa Clemmons.

Lee Daniels and Marc Velez of Lee Daniels Entertainment executive produce the series alongside original star Savage. Saladin Patterson also serves as executive producer and writer for the series. The pilot episode is written by Patterson and directed by Savage. The Wonder Years will air Wednesdays this fall at 8:30 p.m. ET/PT. You can check out the trailer for The Wonder Years below.

ABC FALL PRIMETIME SCHEDULE (all times listed are Eastern/Pacific). 

8:00 p.m. “Dancing with the Stars”
10:00 p.m. “The Good Doctor”

8:00 p.m. “The Bachelorette”
10:00 p.m. “Queens”

8:00 p.m. “The Goldbergs”
8:30 p.m. “The Wonder Years”
9:00 p.m. “The Conners”
9:30 p.m. “Home Economics” (new time)
10:00 p.m. “A Million Little Things”

8:00 p.m. “Station 19”
9:00 p.m. “Grey’s Anatomy”
10:00 p.m. “Big Sky” (new day)

8:00 p.m. “Shark Tank”
9:00 p.m. “20/20” (two hours)

8:00 p.m. “Saturday Night Football”

7:00 p.m. “America’s Funniest Home Videos”
8:00 p.m. “Celebrity Wheel of Fortune” (new day)
9:00 p.m. “Supermarket Sweep” (new time)
10:00 p.m. “The Rookie”