Stellar Gospel Music Awards Announce Premiere Date and Performers

The Clark Sisters honored at the 2021 Stellar Gospel Music Awards (Credit: Gip III for Central City Productions)

The 36th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards are set to air Aug. 1 on BET, with gospel artists Jekalyn Carr and Tye Tribbett serving as hosts.

Performers for this year’s show include Yolanda Adams, Tamela Mann, Avery Sunshine, Jonathan McReynolds, J.J. Hairston, Maverick City Music, Pastor Mike Jr., Jason Clayborn, Hezekiah Walker, CeCe Winans, as well as hosts Tribbett and Carr. The Clark Sisters will perform as well.

The ceremony was recorded in-person on July 10 at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville. Presenters for the show include David Mann.

Related Story: ‘The Clark Sisters’ Movie Scores Lifetime’s Biggest Ratings in Four Years

Among the winners are Pastor Mike Jr. for artist of the year, Jonathan McReynolds for male vocalist of the year, Albertina Walker for female vocalist of the year, and the Clark Sisters for group/duo of the year.

The Clark Sisters [shown above] also were honored with the James Cleveland lifetime achievement award and Tramaine Hawkins received the Aretha Franklin icon award.

The Stellar Gospel Music Awards honor not only the best gospel music of the year, but also the gospel music icons and those who have advocated for the music genre.

The  show will air Sunday, Aug. 1 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on BET, BET Her and BET Gospel.