‘S.W.A.T.’ to Receive ‘Impact Award’ at 5th Annual AAFCA TV Honors

S.W.A.T. (Credit: CBS)

The African American Film Critics Association will recognize police drama S.W.A.T. at its fifth annual AAFCA TV Honors.

The CBS series will receive the “Impact Award” for “storylines and performances that have influence in the African American community.”

Related Story: Shemar Moore Celebrates CBS Decision to Un-Cancel ‘S.W.A.T.’

Other honorees this year include Apple TV+ comedy Ted Lasso, as well as Jennifer Hudson, Delroy Lindo, and Marla Gibbs.

Gibbs (The Jeffersons and 227) will receive the “Legend Award” for “changing the landscape of TV and Film.”

Hudson (The Jennifer Hudson Show) will pick up the “We See You Award,” given to performers who demonstrate versatility in their work with consistent excellence in their craft.

Delroy Lindo (UnPrisoned) will receive the “Legacy Award” given to an artist or institution who inspires others to follow their path.

The “Inclusion Award,” which honors programming that “prioritizes representation of people from all walks of life,” will go Ted Lasso.

On July 19, AAFCA will announce winners in 14 categories, including best actor, best actress, best comedy series, best drama series and more.

The awards will be handed out at a luncheon in Santa Monica on Aug. 27.