Jamie Foxx, Deon Taylor, Fatima Robinson to Be Honored at AAFCA Special Achievement Awards

AAFCA 2024 Special Achievement honorees including Jamie Foxx, Deon Taylor and Fatima Robinson. (Credit: Shutterstock and Getty Images for Warner Bros.)

Producer Jamie Foxx, filmmaker Deon Taylor, and choreographer Fatima Robinson are among the honorees at the upcoming African American Film Critics Association’s 2024 Special Achievement Awards.

Jamie Foxx and Datari Turner, the producing team behind Foxxhill Productions, will receive AAFCA’s Producers Award for bringing the films They Cloned Tyrone, Story Ave, and The Burial to audiences.

Director Deon Taylor will be honored with the Horizon Award, celebrating talent on the rise. Taylor founded Hidden Empire Film Group and has directed the thrillers Black and Blue, Fatale, and Traffik. He is currently working on biopics about Civil Rights activist and congressman John Lewis, and boxer Floyd Mayweather.

Choreographer Fatima Robinson will be presented with AAFCA’s Salute to Excellence Award, recognizing her work on The Color Purple movie musical.

Related StoryDeon Taylor to Direct ‘Freedom Ride’ Based on John Lewis and the Freedom Riders

The late Michael Latt will receive the inaugural Freedom Award. The award was established in Latt’s honor, recognizing his legacy as a marketing strategist, thought leader, and founder of the organization Lead With Love, which promotes the work of underrepresented creatives. The marketing executive was killed in November by an intruder at his home in Los Angeles.

The feature film Killers of the Flower Moon will receive the Stanley & Karen Kramer Social Justice Award for bringing attention to the true story of the infamous Osage Nation murders.

“Our list this year includes titans and trailblazers whose work has transformed the cinematic arts,” AAFCA President and Co-Founder Gil Robertson said in a statement. “Their work leaves us in awe of their incredible achievements and inspires us to move forward in all our endeavors with passion, creativity and determination. AAFCA looks forward to celebrating them.”

Delta Airlines will also be honored — and receive AAFCA’s Film Advocate Award in recognition of their commitment to diversity in entertainment offered aboard Delta flights and embracing emerging filmmakers with their programming.

The trophies will be handed out at the 7th Annual AAFCA Special Achievement Awards luncheon on March 3, at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.