2022 Bounce Trumpet Awards Returning to Honor Courtney B. Vance, Stan Lathan, and More

Bounce Trumpet Awards 2022 (Credit: Bounce TV)

The Bounce Trumpet Awards will return for its 30th anniversary after being postponed in January because of the COVID-19 surge.

The show was originally scheduled to take place on Jan. 15, but has been rescheduled for April 23, at the Dolby Theater in Hollywood and will in June.

“It’s fitting that we will honor Black excellence and achievement on a day that is a commemoration of such a significant moment in our history as African Americans,” Cheryle Harrison, head of Bounce TV, said in a statement. “We appreciate everyone’s patience in our having to adjust this year’s schedule. Health and safety are a priority for our guests, honorees and staff.”

Related Story: ‘Don’t Hang Up’ Movie Brings Record Viewers to Bounce TV

This year’s honorees include civil rights leader  Courtney B. Vance, Stan Lathan, Princess Sarah Culberson, Zaila Avant-Garde, Caroline Wanga, and Xerona Clayton.

There will also be a special tribute to the “Warriors of Justice” who have been on the front lines fighting for social, political, legal, educational, and economic equality for people of color. The honorees includes:
-Rev. Jesse Jackson, Founder/President – Rainbow PUSH Coalition
-Derrick Johnson, President/CEO – NAACP
-Marc Morial, President/CEO, National Urban League
-Dr. Charles Steele, Jr. President/CEO – Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC).

The awards will also feature musical performances by Dru Hill, Mary Mary, Tank, PJ Morton, and Avery Wilson.

The show celebrates African American leaders who have been on the front lines fighting for social, political, legal, educational and economic equality. They were founded in 1992 by Civil Rights leader Xernona Clayton and have honored some of the biggest names in Black history.

You can watch the Trumpet Awards on Juneteenth, Sunday, June 19 at 7 p.m. ET on Bounce TV.