Mary J. Blige, A Tribe Called Quest Among Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2024 Inductees

LOS ANGELES - JUN 26: Mary J Blige at the 2022 BET Awards at Microsoft Theater on June 26, 2022 in Los Angeles, CA (Credit: Shutterstock)

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has unveiled the names of its 2024 inductees.

The list includes Mary J. Blige, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & The Gang, Ozzy Osbourne, and A Tribe Called Quest in the performer category.

The honorees in the musical influence category are Alexis Korner, John Mayall and Big Mama Thornton, while the musical excellence inductees are Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick, and Norman Whitfield.

Related StoryMary J. Blige Says Music ‘Saved’ Her Life

Longtime music executive Suzanne de Passe will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award, which goes to non-performing industry professionals who’ve had a major influence on the creative development and growth of music.

“This diverse group of inductees each broke down musical barriers and influenced countless artists that followed in their footsteps,” John Sykes, chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, said in a press release.

The inductees were announced live by Ryan Seacrest and fellow rock hall of famer Lionel Richie on Sunday during American Idol.

Four of this year’s eight nominees — Cher, Foreigner, Peter Frampton and Kool & the Gang — were on the ballot for the first time.

To be eligible, each artist or band must have released their first commercial recording at least 25 years before the year they are nominated.

More than 1,000 artists, historians and music industry professionals voted on the nominees.

The 2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony takes place on Saturday, Oct. 19 at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio. The ceremony will stream live on Disney+ and air later on ABC.

Below is the complete list of inductees for 2024:

Performer Category:

Mary J. Blige
Dave Matthews Band
Peter Frampton
Kool & The Gang
Ozzy Osbourne
A Tribe Called Quest

Musical Influence Award:
Alexis Korner
John Mayall
Big Mama Thornton

Musical Excellence Award:
Jimmy Buffett
Dionne Warwick
Norman Whitfield

Ahmet Ertegun Award:
Suzanne de Passe