NABJ and NAHJ Set Joint 2022 Convention in Las Vegas

NABJ Convention (Credit:

Black and Hispanic journalists plan to hold another joint convention in 2022.

The National Association of Black Journalists and the National Association Hispanic Journalists made the announcement on Thursday, Aug. 8,  during the NABJ convention in Miami.

The 2022 joint convention will take place in Nevada at Caesars Palace Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, allowing the two journalism groups to share resources.

Related StoryFormer Univision Anchor Maria Elena Salinas Joins CBS News

Sarah Glover was honored by Michelle Rice, general manager of TV One and CLEO TV (Credit: Urban Hollywood 411)
Sarah Glover was honored by Michelle Rice, general manager of TV One & CLEO TV (Credit: Urban Hollywood 411)

NABJ and NAHJ teamed up in 2016 for a combined convention in Washington, D.C., and plan another joint gathering next year in Washington. Both organizations were members of the now-defunct UNITY: Journalists of Color.

In other NABJ news, the Miami convention had record attendance, outgoing President Sarah Glover announced Saturday evening as she accepted a service award from TV One. A total of 4,121 registered attendees took part in the convention at the JW Marriott Miami Turnberry Resort & Spa, she said.

During the gathering, Dorothy Tucker was elected 22nd president of the association. Tucker is an investigative reporter at WBBM-TV, the CBS affiliate in Chicago. She defeated Gregory Lee and Marlon Walker.

“I talk for a living, but I am speechless.” Tucker said in a statement. “One of the greatest things about running for this position is the opportunity to meet so many members and engage with you. I promise I will earn your vote and respect. I will represent everyone.”

Below are the official election results as provided by NABJ.

Gregory Lee: 203 votes
Dorothy Tucker: 411 votes (winner)
Marlon A. Walker: 138 votes

Ken Lemon: 682 votes (unopposed)

Roland Martin: 574 votes (unopposed)

Ernest Owens: 214 votes
Cheryl Smith: 511 votes (winner)

Christopher Nelson: 130 votes
Tory Parrish: 145 votes (winner)

Rod Carter: 153 votes (winner)
Stephen Wright: 65 votes

Enjoyiana Nururdin: 103 votes (unopposed)

Amendment Proposal 1:
A package that includes several recommendations to realign the Board of Directors, including reducing the Board from 14 members to 11. (Members were asked to vote on the Amendment 1 proposal as a package).
YES: 439 votes
NO: 225 votes
*This measure failed because it did not receive approval by the two-thirds of the total number of votes cast as required for an amendment to be adopted.

Amendment Proposal 2:
A proposal that clarifies Lifetime membership eligibility.
YES: 465 votes (measure passed)
NO: 190 votes