NAACP Image Awards: ‘John Lewis: Good Trouble’ Named Top Doc

John Lewis Good Trouble. Courtesy: Tom Lankford, Birmingham News.

The NAACP Image Awards announced the first round of 2021 winners Monday night, with the documentary John Lewis: Good Trouble among the projects picking up awards.

The film about late civil rights activist and Georgia Congressman John Lewis was named outstanding documentary (film).

The Last Dance about Michael Jordan’s final season with the Chicago Bulls won the award for outstandingdocumentary (television – series or special).

Related Story: NAACP Image Awards See Huge Ratings Increase After Move to BET

Among other early winners at the 52nd NAACP Image Awards, former President Barack Obama’s memoir “A Promised Land” won the honor for outstanding literary work – nonfiction; and late Maryland Congressman Elijah Cummings’ book “We’re Better Than This” was named outstanding literary work – debut author. Other winners are listed below.

The non-televised award categories are being announced virtually from March 22-26 at, leading up to the televised show on Saturday, March 27 at 8/7c on BET, with a simulcast airing across ViacomCBS Networks including CBS, BET Her, VH1, MTV, MTV2, and LOGO.

Night One Winners

Outstanding Literary Work – Fiction
“The Awkward Black Man” – Walter Mosley

Outstanding Literary Work – Nonfiction
“A Promised Land” – Barack Obama

Outstanding Literary Work – Debut Author
“We’re Better Than This” – Elijah Cummings

Outstanding Literary Work – Biography/Autobiography
“The Dead Are Arising” – Les Payne, Tamara Payne

Outstanding Literary Work – Instructional
“Vegetable Kingdom” – Bryant Terry

Outstanding Literary Work – Poetry
“The Age of Phillis” – Honorée Jeffers

Outstanding Literary Work – Children
“She Was the First!: The Trailblazing Life of Shirley Chisholm” – Katheryn Russell-Brown, Eric Velasquez

Outstanding Literary Work – Youth/Teens
“Before the Ever After” – Jacqueline Woodson

Outstanding Directing in a Documentary (Television or Motion Picture)
Keith McQuirter – “By Whatever Means Necessary: The Times of Godfather of Harlem”

Outstanding Writing in a Documentary (Television or Motion Picture)
Melissa Haizlip – “Mr. SOUL!”

Outstanding Documentary (Film)
“John Lewis: Good Trouble”

Outstanding Documentary (Television – Series or Special)
“The Last Dance”

Special Award – Youth Activist of the Year
Madison Potts

Special Award – Activist of the Year
Reverend Dr. Wendell Anthony