Missy Elliott Named First Female Rapper Inducted Into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Missy Elliott (Credit: Shutterstock)

Missy Elliott is making history as the first female rapper to join the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

After the class of 2023 was announced on Wednesday, the “Work It” performer took to social media to express her gratitude.

“I want to say this is HUGE not for just me but all my Sisters in HIPHOP this door is now OPEN to showcase the hard work & what many of us contribute to MUSIC,” she tweeted. “I have cried all morning because I am GRATEFUL thank you @rockhall & all on the committee & Supafriends.”

Relates StoryMissy Elliott Honors Her ‘Sisters in Hip Hop’ at Hollywood Star Ceremony

Elliott is known for her pioneering contributions to the hip-hop and R&B genres.

Her early success came as a songwriter, after penning hits for artists including Diddy, Ginuwine, Ciara and the late Aaliyah. She soon stepped out from behind the scenes and became one of the highest charting female rappers.

Chaka Khan, The Spinners, Sheryl Crow, Don Cornelius and Rage Against the Machine are among the other inductees.

“This year’s incredible group of Inductees reflects the diverse artists and sounds that define rock & roll,” John Sykes, chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, said in a statement.

To be eligible for induction, artists must have released their first record at least 25 years prior to the ceremony. Of the seven performers nominated, four are on the ballot for the first time.

The nominees were announced in February.

Of the inductees making the final cut this year, Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliott, George Michael, and Willie Nelson were all first-time nominees.

“We are honored that this November’s Induction Ceremony in New York will coincide with two milestones in music culture; the 90th birthday of Willie Nelson and the 50th Anniversary of the birth of Hip Hop,” Sykes added.

The induction ceremony will take place on Nov. 3 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

Below is the full list of inductees for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2023:

Performer Category:
Kate Bush
Sheryl Crow
Missy Elliott
George Michael
Willie Nelson
Rage Against the Machine
The Spinners

Musical Influence Award:
DJ Kool Herc
Link Wray

Musical Excellence Award:
Chaka Khan
Al Kooper
Bernie Taupin

Ahmet Ertegun Award:
Don Cornelius