African American Film Critics Honor ‘Black Panther’ and ‘Queen Sugar’

YouTube video

The African American Film Critics Association celebrated excellence in film and television Wednesday night at the 10th Annual AAFCA Awards.

There were tears, laughs and several poignant moments during the ceremony in Los Angeles, hosted by The Neighborhood actress Tichina Arnold.

Director and activist Ava DuVernay opened the awards by presenting the AAFCA Best Director honor to Black Panther director, Ryan Coogler.

“It really, truly is an honor,” Coogler told the audience.

Music icon Quincy Jones received the AAFCA Stanley Kramer Award, which was presented by Karen Kramer, wife of the late producer-director.

Rashida Jones and Quincy Jones at the 10th Annual AAFCA Awards. ( Credit: Sheri Determan)
Rashida Jones and Quincy Jones at the 10th Annual AAFCA Awards. (Credit: Sheri Determan)

BlacKkKlansman producer and Blumhouse Productions CEO, Jason Blum, got emotional on stage when he was presented with the AAFCA Cinema Vanguard Award.

Blum said he was so thrilled about receiving the honor that he had written about 35 drafts of his acceptance speech. The Hollywood executive, whose company also produced Get Out, added that Blumhouse is committed to telling diverse stories.

“We do not hire diverse directors to win awards. We don’t hire women because it’s the right thing to do. We hire diversity because we hire the best. We hire diversity because it’s been great for our business,” Blum said. “It’s time for artists in front of and behind the camera to look like the world looks.”

The evening’s presenters included John David Washington, Dondre Whitfield, Salli Richardson-Whitfield, Lakeith Stanfield, AAFCA co-founders Gil Robertson and Shawn Edwards and many more.

Jason Blum receives the Cinema Vanguard Award from "BlacKkKlansman" star John David Washington at the 10th Annual AAFCA Awards. (Credit: ©2019 Sheri Determan)
Jason Blum receives the Cinema Vanguard Award from “BlacKkKlansman” star John David Washington. (Credit: Sheri Determan)

Below is the complete list of AAFCA Awards Winners:
Best Film: Black Panther
Best Director: Ryan Coogler (Black Panther)
Best Screenplay: Charlie Wachtel & David Rabinowitz and Kevin Willmott & Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)
Best Actor: John David Washington (BlacKkKlansman)
Best Actress: Regina Hall (Support the Girls)
Best Supporting Actor: Russell Hornsby (The Hate U Give)
Best Supporting Actress: Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Best Breakout Performance: Amandla Stenberg (The Hate U Give)
Best Animated Film: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
Best Independent Film: If Beale Street Could Talk
Best Foreign Film: Roma
Best Documentary: Quincy
Best Song: All The Stars (Black Panther)
Best New Media: Red Table Talk
Best TV Drama: Queen Sugar
Best TV Comedy: Insecure
Cinema Vanguard:Jason Blum
Stanley Kramer Award: Quincy Jones
Breakthrough Film Award: Aneesh Chaganty