Loretta Devine, Sheila E., Misty Copeland Join Cast of Disney Jr. Animated Series ‘Eureka!’

LORETTA DEVINE, SHEILA E., MISTY COPELAND join cast of Eureka! (Credit: Shutterstock)

Eureka! Disney Junior is adding to the voice cast of its newest animated series.

Emmy Award-winning actress Loretta Devine, acclaimed drummer Sheila E., and ballet dancer Misty Copeland have all signed on for guest roles on Disney Branded Television’s Eureka!, Disney said in a recent press release.

Devine will play Eureka’s grandmother. Sheila E. and Copeland will voice the characters of Yurt, a traveling musician, and Rockanne, a dance teacher, respectively.

Related Story: ‘The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder’ Adds Star-Studded Guest Cast for Season 2

Also joining the cast as recurring guest stars are Ellie Kemper (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt) as the school librarian, Chee; Jack McBrayer (30 Rock) as a pet kanga bird; Ryan Michelle Bathé (The Endgame) as Barry’s mom, Sierra; and Wendell Pierce (Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan) as Barry’s father, Cliff.

The series stars Ruth Righi as Eureka, Renée Elise Goldsberry and Lil Rel Howery as Eureka’s parents, Roxy and Rollo, and Javier Muñoz as her teacher, Ohm.

Here’s the official description: “Set in the fantastical prehistoric world of Rocky Falls, Eureka! follows the story of Eureka, a young girl inventor who is way ahead of her time. She designs inventions and contraptions in the hopes of making the world a better place and moving her prehistoric community into a more modern era.”

Additional cast members include Kai Zen as Pepper, Devin Trey Campbell as Barry, Fred Tatasciore as Murphy, Cree Summer as Verna, Kevin Michael Richardson as Dima, Aydrea Walden as Olive and Groopy, Connor Andrade as Clod, Cade Tropeano as Bog, Madigan Kacmar as Julia, Vivienne Rutherford as Lark, Judah Howery as twins Spruce and Cypress Stoneland, Dee Bradley Baker as Ptero, and André Sogliuzzo as Link.

The series is produced by Brown Bag Films in association with Disney Junior. Norton Virgien and Niamh Sharkey are creators and executive producers. Erica Rothschild developed the series with Virgien and Sharkey and serves as co-executive producer and story editor. Rusty Cundieff and Donna Brown Guillaume are consulting producers. Singer and songwriter Kari Kimmel is the series’ songwriter, and Frederik Wiedmann is the composer.

Eureka! premieres Wednesday, June 22 at 7:30 p.m. EDT/PDT on Disney Junior. An initial batch of episodes will also premiere the same day on on Disney+.

Watch the trailer below.

YouTube video