John Legend Becomes EGOT Winner With Emmy Victory

John Legend won an Emmy Award on Sunday, Sept. 9, 2018. (Credit: Deposit Photos)

John Legend joined an exclusive club Sunday night after winning an Emmy Award.

Legend, Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice reached EGOT status at the Creative Arts Emmys when they picked up awards for producing Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert. An EGOT is an artist who’s won an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony.

Read MoreBlack Performers Make Emmys History in Guest Actor Categories

Legend took to Instagram to celebrate his good fortune.

“Before tonight, only 12 people had won an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony in competitive categories,” he posted, along with a picture of the Emmy-winning Jesus Christ Superstar Live team.

“Sirs Andrew Lloyd Webber, Tim Rice and I joined that group when we won an Emmy for our production
of their legendary show Jesus Christ Superstar,” Legend added. “So happy to be part of this team. So honored they trusted me to play Jesus Christ. So amazed to be in such rarefied air. #EGOT.”

Whoopi Goldberg and Rita Moreno are also EGOT winners.

Legend is the only African-American man win all four awards in competitive categories. Harry Belafonte, James Earl Jones and Quincy Jones are often described as having EGOT status, however, they received honorary Oscars and did not win in competitive races.

Legend played Jesus in the NBC production, and is also nominated for outstanding actor in a limited series or movie. That award will be announced Sept. 17, at the Primetime Emmys.

The Creative Arts Emmys were held this weekend over two nights. On Saturday, Tiffany Haddish, Ron Cephas Jones, Samira Wiley and Katt Williams made history, when they swept the four guest acting categories.

Read MoreEmmy Nominations: Black Actors Shine, Sandra Oh Makes History

It was the first time all four guest-starring awards went to actors of color.

The remaining Emmys will be handed out during the live telecast next Monday at 8pm ET/5pm PT on NBC.

For a full list of Sunday night’s Creative Arts Emmy winners, click here.