Universal Studio Group Exec Pearlena Igbokwe to Be Honored by African American Film Critics

Pearlena Igbokwe (Credit: Maarten de Boer/Universal Studio Group)

The African American Film Critics Association will honor Pearlena Igbokwe, chairman of Universal Studio Group, next month in Los Angeles.

Igbokwe oversees Universal Television, Universal Content Productions, Universal Television Alternative Studio and Universal International Studios. She will receive AAFCA’s Ashley Boone Award at the 4th Annual AAFCA TV Honors, the organization announced Wednesday. The award is presented each year to an executive “who has distinguished themselves within the industry with excellence.”

Related StoryHalle Berry Gets Emotional About Hollywood Overlooking Black Women: ‘I See You’ (Video)

The critics group will also recognize executive producer, writer and director, Alex Kurtzman, by awarding him the AAFCA Ally Award. Per AAFCA, the honor is presented to an individual or company in recognition of their commitment to diversity and inclusion in entertainment.

Kurtzman has a production company called Secret Hideout. His credits include Star-Trek: Discovery, Star Trek: Picard, and most recently Star Trek: Strange New Worlds and The Man Who Fell From Earth. He has also co-written films, including Star Trek, and Transformers and directed The Mummy and People Like Us.

AAFCA will additionally give its Inclusion Award to the Warner Bros. Television Group. WBTVG Chairman Channing Dungey will accept the award on behalf of the studio.

“AAFCA is so excited to be honoring Pearlena, Alex and Warner Bros. Television Group for their achievements,” AAFCA co-founder and president Gil Robertson said in a statement. “In the ever-changing landscape of television, their creativity and progressive leadership is the foundation on which our industry is built and provides inspiration to all of us.”

On July 18, AAFCA will announce winners in 14 categories, including best actor, best actress, best comedy series, best drama series and more. The winners will be recognized alongside the honorees at the 4th Annual AAFCA TV Honors on Aug. 20.