Jonathan McReynolds Takes Top Prizes at Stellar Gospel Music Awards

Top winner Jonathan McReynolds embraces his eight trophies at the 34th Stellar Gospel Music Awards (Credit: Central City Productions)

Jonathan McReynolds picked up eight trophies at the Stellar Gospel Music Awards, including artist of the year.

McReynolds also took home awards for contemporary male vocalist, contemporary CD and producer of the year, thanks to his album Make Room. His single “Not Lucky, I’m Loved” was named song of the year.

The ceremony was taped Friday, March 29 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, with Kirk Franklin returning as host.

Jekalyn Carr picked up three awards, including female vocalist of the year. The Walls Group won the award for duo/chorus group of the year, and Jabari Johnson was named best new artist following the release of his album Day of Redemption.

Gospel star Delores Washington Green of the Caravans was given the legend award.

Kelly Price, Erica Campbell and Regina Belle arrive on the red carpet of the 34th Stellar Gospel Music Awards (Credit: Earl Gibson III)
(L-R) Kelly Price, Erica Campbell and Regina Belle performed a tribute to Aretha Franklin (Credit: Earl Gibson III)

The show included a posthumous tribute to Aretha Franklin, with performances by Kelly Price, Erica Campbell and Regina Belle, and Franklin’s family members were presented with the inaugural Aretha Franklin ICON Award for her impact on the gospel music genre.

Read More: Aretha Franklin Shines in ‘Amazing Grace’ Trailer

Franklin died in August 2018. Her 1972 gospel album Amazing Grace is the top-selling gospel album of all time.

BET will broadcast the Stellar Gospel Music Awards on Easter Sunday, April 21 at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT.